Return to Curriculum

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Foundation Stage makes a crucial contribution to children’s early development and learning. We provide children with a rich variety of teaching and learning experiences that are appropriate to their needs. The Early Years Foundation Stage is about developing key learning skills such as listening, speaking, leading to independent confident happy children.

The seven areas of learning that makeup the Foundation Stage curriculum are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Careful thought and planning goes into the Early Years curriculum. Individual needs are catered for and children’s interests are taken into account. To maximise learning, children learn through a mix of adult led and child-initiated activities. The environment is very spacious, and our two outdoor environments are as equally important for learning as indoors.